Altoid Box


I made this one as a Christmas gift for my mother last year out of an Altoid box. The movement only lasted until recently (that I know of), and when I was photographing it I noticed it needed to be replaced. It was a recurring issue I had noticed with most of my other Hobby Lobby movements (I now purchase movements at Wal-Mart and have no complaint…) where the second hand sticks, thus disabling the minute and hour hands and rendering the entire thing useless. Hobby Lobby movements are under a lifetime warranty, but I seem unable to hang onto packaging and receipts long enough to determine whether or not the product is acceptable.

The flower below the face of the clock was hand-made from Cosmo Cricket “Always” cardstock, I found the basic technique in “Paper Quilling for the First Time” by Alli Bartowski, and bent it to my own purposes. : ) The roman numerals were typed up on Microsoft Word in italics distressed with Tim Holtz’s Distressed Re-inker Tea Dye.

Here is a shot of the back, with one of my favourite quotes.

Leave a Reply

