Masked Embossing


palm-tree-step-4.jpg
I discovered this technique while playing around with my glue sticks and Marvy Uchida heat gun. I used Stampin’ Up black embossing powder and 3M glue sticks on this piece, and on the ATC previously posted.

palm-tree-reverse-emboss.jpg In Step 1, I layed the palm tree clip art face-down on the piece of paper I wanted to emboss, and rubbed the 3M glue-stick around the edges, making sure to reach between the palm-fronds.

In Step2, I poured the embossing powder over the piece, tapping the excess back into the container and peeling up the clip art. If you don’t like using that extra bit of embossing powder (which I usually don’t) peel up the clip art before you pour the powder.

In Step 3, I hit it with the heat gun until it is dry.

Aside Note: Be sure to click on the Techniques link in my side-bar to look for other technique articles. : )

*Credit to Joyce at SCS for naming the technique. You can read her comment below. Thanks Joyce!

2 Comments »

  1. Joyce Said:

    Can’t wait to try this technique. I found it through your link on SCS, where you said you were looking for re-name suggestions. How about “masked embossing”?

    Joyce

  2. paperbouquet Said:

    Thanks Joyce!

    Olivia


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

